Sugarbread

So I have something else for you.
Soap&SkinSugarbread
It’s just an ep, but it gives a pretty good idea of what the music is all about. I really like ep’s.
You have really got to watch this video for the title track, it’ll scar you, and if you are anything like me (lazy and sad?) you will have that interminable phrase running through your head until your death.
When you close your eyes to sleep,
“Try to break one’s heart in perpetuity”
On your drive to work,
“Try to break one’s heart in perpetuity”
When you lean in to kiss your wife,
“Try to break one’s heart in perpetuity”
It will be there.


Seriously though, I don’t have a wife or a job nor do I sleep, but if I did I’m certain that that song would plague my thoughts at those moments. Maybe this song will finally unseat that Yaz song Situation that has been inexplicably invading my thoughts for the last decade or so.
Anyway, I don’t have a lot of info to give you about Soap&Skin that is going to mean a whole lot to you. It’s another one of those bands that isn’t a band at all, basically just a young weird talented Austrian girl named Anja Plaschg, and that this release is on PIAS (Play It Again Sam Records). Funny enough I had seen PIAS listed on other releases in the recent past and did not realize that it was in actuality Play It Again Sam, I had no idea that they were even still around. I can’t help but think of Front 242 and Wax Trax every time. Maybe it’s that tenuous connection that made me presume that they had gone the same way as the two aforementioned now defunct institutions. (Actually I think Front 242 might still be around surprisingly) Sorry, I tend to go off on a lot of tangents. So, she has two full LPs, Lovetune For Vacuum, her first, which is where I first discovered her while reading about it’s release on The End Of Being website (theendofbeing.com), and Narrow.
I probably shouldn’t type these horrible words for fear that they will turn everyone away from Soap&Skin forever, but it kind of reminds me of Tori Amos (God know why), with one very very important distinction, I like Soap&Skin. There is a hint of Miranda Sex Garden thrown in there, but that just might be because it is a bunch of weird German women.
You can just forget everything I just typed and listen to the music, draw your own conclusions. You probably won’t read this anyway.

One thought on “Sugarbread

  1. I guess I’m supposed to leave comments here instead of texting them, so to reiterate what I’ve already told Jeff: i enjoyed the weirdness of the video, especially the dancing lady from metropolis. Of course my enjoyment of this post is covered in a DayQuil haze.

    Xoxo
    A.

Leave a Reply

