Pre-blog post (07.07.13)

July 7th, 2013

Hi, here’s some more stuff for the “It’ll End In Tears” series.

This Mortal Coil – Holocaust
Holocaust is another Big Star song from the 3rd: Sister Lovers album, which I put up before, so there isn’t much need to add to that unless you want a demo version that I have from one of the many collections available. Howard Devoto of Buzzcocks and Magazine fame is the person doing this interpretation.

Buzzcocks – Singles Going Steady

This Mortal Coil – Fyt
This one is an original piece, primarily Ivo playing with keyboards and drum machines. He’s allowed, the whole project is his conception as well as being the person behind 4AD’s existence, plus I feel like it flows well into the next song which is…

This Mortal Coil – Fond Affections
I absolutely love this song. It doesn’t fit, but it is another one of the songs that I want included in my memorial despite it being rather dismal, I still think it is beautiful. (You guys are taking notes, right?) The vocals are again, Gordon Sharp of Cindytalk and the song is a reinterpretation of a Rema Rema song. It is hard to believe that they are the same song when you put them side by side. Rema Rema only had this one release, and although you probably cannot tell from this output, every one of the members went on to do some pretty amazing stuff, but that is solely my opinion. One guy left to do Adam and the Ants, which is the reason behind Rema Rema disbanding. Another guy went on to be a part of Psychic TV, what was left was then Mark Cox, Gary Asquith and Mick Allen. Allen and Asquith had put the group together in the first place so they pulled in Danny Briottet to reform as MASS. This again was short lived, but Allen and Cox became The Wolfgang Press and Asquith and Briottet became Renegade Soundwave. Very cool. All of this was released through 4AD incidentally, so props to Ivo again.
So, I will put up:

Rema Rema – Wheel in the Roses

Just for kicks I’m going to also give you:

Mass – Labour of Love

Renegade Soundwave – Soundclash
This is RSW’s fantastic debut album. Very different from what was going on with Mass and Rema Rema.

The Wolfgang Press – Bird Wood Cage
This is TWP’s third album. The first two are darker and more akin to the Mass and Rema Rema stuff, so I thought I would give you something a bit different, plus this a really good album once you warm up to it.
I’m gonna sink my teeth into KANSAS…KANSAS…KANSAS…KANSAS…KANSAS…KANSAS…KANSAS…KANSAS
I listen to it a lot.

Also, so you can get a different perspective of Cindytalk, I’ll give you one of their later albums which has a beautiful opening track of Gordon singing acappella that is equally as impressive as Fond Affections.

Cindytalk – Wappinscaw

And then we have:

This Mortal Coil – The Last Ray
This one is essentially Ivo with the Cocteaus minus Elizabeth Fraser. And unless you guys are especially fond of Cocteau Twins, or put in a special request for more, I think I’m going to assume that the two albums I already posted are going to suffice for now.

I have some exciting new stuff to put up after I finish up with this series.

– J. Sparks

Leave a Reply

