Pre-blog post (06.20.13)

Jun 20th, 2013

(the almost forgotten This Mortal Coil series)

Hi, I put this post together back in March, but never sent it out. I’ve been preoccupied with other stuff and neglected
to continue with my plans on here. Initially I wanted to wait a bit to make sure everyone got everything they wanted before I started removing things (if you’ve got the basic, free plan without any referrals, then you’re probably at your space limit.) I’ll get more stuff up pretty soon. I have some new stuff, and because of my injury I am having to stay at my parent’s house which means I have a constant internet connection, unlike my house. I also have a lot of free time on my hand… hahaha, Okay.

Anyway, this one is easy. It’s basically Cocteau Twins (namely Elizabeth Fraser and Robin Guthrie) performing as This Mortal Coil for a cover of a Tim Buckley song. Even if you haven’t heard this album, you’ve probably heard this song. If you’ve watched Lost Highway you would have heard the song playing muffled while the cabin burns in reverse for the first time, right before Fred changes, then it’s played in full later while Pete and Alice are nakedly passing the time in front of the same cabin waiting for Robert Blake to do more creepy stuff. It sounds really weird, and it is, but it is actually almost cohesive after a few viewings, unlike the impossibly convoluted and indecipherable, yet thoroughly entertaining Mulholland Drive. I digress, you guys aren’t here for a discursive exegesis of David Lynch films.

First off of course:
This Mortal Coil – Song to the Siren

Since I just put up a Cocteau Twins album I’ll post:
The Moon and the Melodies, this just has a title, there really isn’t a band name on this one. Instead of the group name there is just a listing of all the musicians, which in this case the only difference in the lineup from the Cocteaus is the addition of Harold Budd. In the end it pretty much just sounds like a CT album. In the metadata on the tracks I have it listed as Cocteau Twins and Harold Budd. This is the dreamy ethereal kind of stuff that I was talking about in the previous post. Personally, some of this makes me feel like I should be sitting around meditating with a bunch of crystals and crap like that but it isn’t bad, and I guess if you are going to listen to junk like that you might as well listen to something good instead of wind chimes and flutes.

I’ve been thinking about this while listening to some more CT and have changed my mind entirely.
Cocteau Twins – Head Over Heels, this is altogether a better album so that is the one you are getting. Sorry. I believe it is their follow up to Garlands. It’s ’83 and Garlands is ’82 so…

And lastly we have:
Tim Buckley – The Dream Belongs To Me: Rare And Unreleased Recordings 1968/1973

Be back later with more musics. I am probably going to compress a bit more in a few of these, so it isn’t actually going to be one song at a time.

– J. Sparks

Leave a Reply

