Pre-blog post (03.27.13)

MAR 27th, 2013

Okay. So I decided to add some more stuff since I have been lax in my duties as postmaster lately and I just wanted to anyway.

So, I am going to do the series thing anyway whether you like it or not, but I it’s going to be a bit unusual. I am going to base it off of, This Mortal Coil – It’ll End In Tears, but you are going to get it one song at a time. Hahahahaha… sorry.

Phase 1

This Mortal Coil – Kangaroo

This is a Big Star song written by Alex Chilton, interpreted here by Gordon Sharp of Cindytalk and Simon Raymonde of Cocteau Twins. (Incidentally this was also covered by Jeff Buckley.)
Therefore, you’re also going to get:
Big Star – 3rd: Sister Lovers
I’m kind of torn as to which Cindytalk album to post, because there isn’t a great starting point, and they are kind of unclassifiable which is good, but bad when you are trying to talk about their music. I guess I will just give you the first and you can figure it out for yourself, I just don’t want to put anyone off with a bad introduction, because I really think they are worth giving a chance. Gordon Sharp actually has a good voice. Just imagine how incredibly odd sounding this album must have been to hear back when it was first released in 1984. Not that I can really say it is the same but I remember hearing My Bloody Valentine – Loveless for the first time and just having all my preconceptions of music just smashed against a wall, in a good way. As you might guess I didn’t really plan this, I’m figuring out this one as I type.
Enough talk.
Cindytalk – Camouflage Heart
Again I don’t really know which Cocteau Twins to post either, but I think I will follow suit and post their first album despite the fact that it gets a lot of trash talk from later Cocteau fans that are more about their dreamy ethereal stuff, complaining that it is too dark and gothy. Screw those guys, I like it. Plus, if you listen you can hear Gordon Sharp on Dear Heart, which is fitting for this post. He sat in with them on some Peel Sessions and live shows back in the day.
Cocteau Twins – Garlands
This is one of the later issues with bonus Peel Sessions where you can find the Gordon Sharp vocals.

Now listen, and let all that gestate in your brain for a while. I’ll be back soon for the next step.

– J. Sparks

Leave a Reply

