Pre-blog post (03.01.13)

MAR 1st, 2013

Okay, hello.
I am feeling a little bit nostalgic and also a little bit sad, not in a shoot your face off kind of way. It’s more of a cathartic melancholy if that sounds better to you, which I’m sure it doesn’t. How is this different than any other day Jeff, you might be asking yourself? I suppose it isn’t.
So, here is some music. Have fun, and all apologies to Greg. I’m sure that this isn’t doing much for him since we already basically combined our musics. I’ll try to get some new stuff to mix in here to make it fair for everybody. But for now…

First off is, Ride – Nowhere (20th Anniversary Edition). Can you believe that that was over twenty years ago? Holy crap, we’re all gonna die soon. You might have noticed that it seems longer than it was originally. That of course is because, as a special edition they have to add more stuff to make you buy it. The last four tracks aren’t actually part of the album proper, but an EP or something from the same time that they just tacked on. It’s cool and all, and I like extra stuff, but to me it messes with the album flow. So, if you want to listen to it properly, then you will stop right after the track Nowhere. You can listen to the other after taking a few moments for contemplation and writing a letter to your Mom because you are feeling so introspective. I even put additional album art for the Ep in the meta data of those tracks. The next disc is a concert from around the time the album came out. Afterward you can ask yourself, “Why, oh why did they fall apart and basically become the backup musicians for Oasis?”
Vapour Trail, someone should play that at my funeral. I’ll probably go before all of you, so somebody should probably be taking notes on all the songs I randomly mention to be played at my funeral. It will probably come up a few times. I guess it will be recorded here, so when the time comes all you guys have to do is trudge through my ramblings for mentions of funeral songs.

Okay so next is, The Smiths – Strangeways, Here We Come.
I told you I was feeling nostalgic and sad right? I think this is pretty self explanatory.
Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me… I used to listen to this album all the time while hanging out at Christy’s house, back when I was in high school. She’s been married twice, and I’m still living alone with a cat.

Finally, Low – Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me.
Just because, and because it’s good, plus we were on the topic. It’s just a single.

– J. Sparks

Leave a Reply

